My Favorite Frosting

Hey Cupcakes!!!

If you have read this blog for any length of time (or looked at the name of my blog) you know I love cupcakes! Whether it is eating them or  making them I just like them. So in that time I have experimented with different frostings and recipes. Some people call me picky, but in most cases I hate store-bought canned frosting. It is full of preservatives, and many times I am allergic to at least some of the ingredients! It also is not a good consistency to pipe onto cupcakes! It is so expensive compared to homemade frosting, believe me once you know how to make good frosting you won’t want to come back!

My favorite recipe is mainly out of the Taste of Home cookbook with a few tweaks.

~Ingredients~

1 box (about 1 lbs) Powdered Sugar                          1 1/2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract

1/2 cup Butter, softened                                              4-5 Tablespoons Milk

~Directions~

  1. Put butter in Mixing bowl. Beat for 30 seconds. I personally use a stand mixer but a hand mixer will work as well.
  2. Add in vanilla. Mix a little more.
  3. Add in as much powdered sugar as will mix in. Then add a little milk and keep alternating until all powdered sugar is used and consistency is good.
  4. Put on cupcakes, eat straight, or save for later. Enjoy!

~Notes~

~  I found that in Arizona I had to use 6 Tablespoons of Milk but here I use 4, so it really depends on where you live.

~ Use 1 teaspoon vanilla in frosting you are going to keep white or it will be slightly brownish. If you want it to be pure white, don’t use any vanilla or use special clear vanilla.

I hope you found this recipe useful and like it!

In Love,

Deborah 🙂

Leave a comment